The voice that says “no”

It was July of this year. I was contemplating starting a blog about simple living, frugality, and other money/lifestyle topics. I floated the idea by my friend Mike (whose blog and lifestyle I admire), and he essentially wrote back “go for it!”

Fast forward to yesterday. I hung out with Mike and thought to myself, “I still haven’t started the blog. What’s holding me back?” My inner voice answered, “everything’s already been written before, we’re all reading the same books & blogs, and you can’t go head-to-head with the established Big Guys, so what value can you add to the discussion?”

Hold on a second. If I’m going to let The Voice that says “no” overrule me on the insignificant decision of whether or not to start a blog, what power will that voice have over my important decisions!?

The moral here is that even if you have no argument that will overrule the The Voice in a debate, that voice is just a little gnat and you’re a big person, so stop listening to it and start doing the things you want to do.

So even if I have nothing to add and nobody ever reads this, starting this blog is a my personal “up yours” to the voice that says “no”.

4 thoughts on “The voice that says “no””

  1. I love this! I went through the same exact thing when I was debating starting a blog almost a year ago, and finally last month I had the guts to tell my inner voice to screw itself. Good luck on your blogging endeavors, and remember that there will always be someone who wants to know what you think!

Leave a Reply

