Now the internet knows how much I spend on socks

I got this cute drawing on a receipt for socks I ordered online, and I decided to share it on reddit, the social news website. Not sure what I was thinking.

The first comment, from MikeOnFire, was actually a good question that got me thinking:

$44 for three pairs of socks? Wow, either I’m missing out or I’m pretty good with my money

To which I responded

Whether or not you’re missing out depends on how much you currently spend on your socks, how often you need to replace them, how much you like shopping for socks, the value you place on fashion/style, etc. Spending more or less for a particular item doesn’t necessarily make you good or bad with your money. It’s all about how much value you personally get out of the amount you spend.

In other words, nobody can impose their money values on another person. Beyond spending less than you make, being “good with money” can mean different things to different people. I don’t spend much on clothing over the course of the year and I’m not a fan of clothes shopping. So when I buy an article of clothing, I choose something that will hopefully provide good value, and last a while.

The most important things when it comes to money are having a healthy attitude, and sticking to your goals/values.  Actually those might be the most important things in life in general. Funny how that works.

2 thoughts on “Now the internet knows how much I spend on socks”

Leave a Reply

