Maybe there IS such thing as a free lunch?

Since my paid employment involves building websites, I’m always trying out new websites and phone apps (as long as they’re free). With Mrs. Foundry starting up her food truck, I was interested in a mobile payment app called Level Up. It has a cute interface where you dock your phone in the restaurant’s payment system and the dock turns green when the transaction goes through.

I installed it on my phone and forgot about it, since I’m in the middle of Just Cash June. Then I got an email saying a $10 credit was applied to my account, so I figured “what the heck.” I took it for a spin at a nearby pizza place, figuring I could get a couple slices and leave a nice tip, all for under $10. I’m not sure what Level Up’s business model is, giving away $10 to customers, but that’s not my problem.

The transaction was so smooth (and free) I got really happy. Maybe it was the pizza that made me happy. I was so happy, I walked next door to the frozen yogurt place and got a cup of yogurt. The froyo place didn’t have Level Up so I had to pay cash for that. Maybe they’re owned by Level Up, and that’s their business model!

If you’re interested in trying out Level Up, here’s an invite code. We each get $5 if you use it:

https://www.thelevelup.com/join/149845

Leave a Reply

