Should I stay or should I go?

One of the next recurring expenses I’ll be tackling is our crazy $150/month mobile phone bill. We use CREDO Mobile, so I get that warm-fuzzy liberal feeling of supporting a good cause, but it’s not that warm of a feeling. My blog idol, Mr Money Mustache, recently posted a how-to article on getting mobile service for $10 / month, using a prepaid plan.

So I’ve been shopping around for different types of plans, pre-paid and flat-rate. I haven’t made any decisions yet, but I did whip up this little spreadsheet that shows you how many months until you’d “break even” after switching to a cheaper plan. It takes into account the cost of a new phone and any early termination fees. Then it tells you the number of months before you’ll break even on a new plan:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Am8qaK8Qf80edGh1RzJrZFVwSUZZYVcyaUJVQkpfdnc

Hope this is useful to other people as well!

Update: Technical Meshugana created a web-based/javascript version of the calculator! No need to load the big Google Spreadsheet page. Check it out:

http://www.techmeshugana.com/tools/wirelessroi.html

One thought on “Should I stay or should I go?”

Leave a Reply

